Today’s schools should teach their students how to survive financially in the world today. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Despite several changes in the society in the last century, schools are still the primary place of learning for almost 90% of the World population. Educational institutions play an important role in moulding the personality of an individual. Such institutions are now expected to impart financial survival skills in their students. I strongly agree that children are to be taught these skills right from their schools. This essay will support my opinion with relevant evidences. The rapid changes in the societal and family setup over the last two decades necessitate every individual to become independent. For example, the number of divorces is increasing aggressively and there are several kids getting admitted to foster homes. The economic security offered by a traditional family is increasingly becoming a luxury. In such cases, children are faced with a hard life right at a very young age and having the suitable knowledge to manage themselves economically becomes necessary. Schools are almost the only place of learning for children at such young age and the teachers can act as great guides to help kids manage their own finances. On the other hand, learning to manage money earlier in life can lead to better financial discipline as adults. For instance, a man who has got a good amount of savings by doing part-time jobs from childhood is less likely to lose all that hard earned money in gambling. Further, acquiring money management practices becomes fun, when it is done along with peers. Also, there is a huge scope for such fun activities to inculcate a habit in regular life in the long term. Therefore, there are no better places than the classrooms to impart these fund management traits. In a nutshell, human beings have been traditionally looking up to educational avenues as places of learning. Therefore, schools are the best platforms to render the most necessary financial survival skills to the coming generations, when the World is transforming rapidly. It is recommended that the concerned authority takes into consideration the importance of fund management skills for students and incorporate the same in the syllabus.