There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in student numbers at university? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In recent years, the number of students enrolling in the universities is on the rise. Some people believe that this growth has a positive effect on the society while others think that it may reduce the quality of education in the universities. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a huge number of students at university. On one hand, having a large number of students will be advantageous in various ways. If there are more students, universities can improve financially. When universities have adequate funds, they can be invested in research and development activities.Most of the universities in the United States generate funds through fees, and invest them on computer research Students with different cultures and backgrounds can be welcomed when there is a high intake of students. Due to the diversity, students can learn different cultures and they can also improve their communication. On the other hand, universities which admit number of students might face difficulties in providing quality education. Faculty to student ratio will be very less in such universities, making it hard for students to work on research projects which need continuous mentoring from the professors of the university. If there is no research in university, there will be no innovation and the reputation of university eventually comes down. In conclusion, although there are advantages and disadvantages, universities should enrol optimum number of students which bring a balance by maintaining the quality of education and the level of the education in the community.