Some people think that in order to solve traffic and transportation problems people should be encouraged to live in cities rather than in suburbs or countryside. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is argued that in order to solve vehicle congestions on the roads, people should be encouraged to move to urban areas. This essay will illustrate the facts the disagree with this view, because more citizens means more cars on the roads and it would also lead to raise the number of passengers for public transportation. In the modern society, it is common to every individual to own a vehicle, hence if more families move to the cities, then the number of cars would eventually increase. The traffic on the roads have increased not because of the people coming from outside of the urban areas, but living in these places. For example, surveys have shown that a large percentage of citizens in busy cities use their cars to commute rather than public transportation. Therefore, it is fair to say that increasing the number of people in cities would lead to more vehicles on roads. Another indirect negative effect of increasing the people in these places is, the more use of public commute systems. Already the existing infrastructure could not accommodate the density of passengers use these facilities. Therefore, governments will have to build more railways and add more buses to address the increasing population in cities, which again is not the best solution for traffic congestions on roads. For instance, The railway system in Colombo city could not provide the service to ever increasing use of its. In conclusion, encouraging the people to move to crowded area is certainly not the way to address the heavy traffic on the roads. Because, it would add more personal and public vehicles in these areas which will lead to more congestions.