Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the last century, the use of computers has increased dramatically. Nowadays, all disciplines and industries across the world are adapting to the digital world which is the result of the widespread use of computers. Hence, many people argue that the invention of computers has the highest significance in the last hundred years. I strongly agree with this argument. This essay will provide a few reasons why computers should be considered important. Firstly, computers have a large memory and are capable of storing huge amounts of data. Before their invention, data storage was done on paper which had a risk of getting misplaced. For example, most of the historical records and literature have many pages missing in them. Now, all the works are documented digitally and hence are available for eternity. Thus, our ability to keep track of data has improved significantly due to the use of computers. The next argument in favour of computers is their computation speed and flexibility. All companies across the world use computers for a variety of purposes irrespective of their main area of expertise. Computers can solve complex problems in seconds which was not possible before their arrival. This is especially useful in fields like mathematics and artificial intelligence which are becoming popular and widespread now. Despite its advantages, some people argue that computers are making us more lethargic and less social by doing all our tasks for us. For example, people assert that with the increase of artificial intelligence, computers perform tasks like booking appointments, or even replying to messages, which reduce our direct interaction with people. To summarize, computers have influenced our lives to a large extent in a positive way. The flexibility, speed and memory have made computers pervasive. I believe that the advantages of computers outweigh their disadvantages and criticisms and hence, computers should be considered as the most important invention in the last century.