Some people think that universities studentsshould specialise in a particular subject while others believe that they should study a range of subjects. Discus both views and give your opinion.

A few individuals suggest that higher institution students should focus on a specific subject area whereas others think that they should learn widely across several topics. This essay will expatiate on both views, however, I am of the opinion that a particular course field should be studied by students as it will help them to have complete knowledge of their field. To begin with, the suggestions of those who want university candidates to learn a wide range of units might have this take for several reasons. One is that having exposure to different areas of training can give them diverse understanding and information. That is, their wealth of knowledge is expanded hence in any job field they find themselves in future, they would be able to apply other skills acquired. For instance, General training for Doctors helps them to have every necessary information on all areas of medicine which they make use of during their practice. Meanwhile, on the other hand, I am also in support of the other groups that believe that a definite area of study should only be focused on. When trainees concentrate their strength on a particular discipline, it helps equip them to become masters of it. A typical example is the training that Dentists go through while in medical school. Unlike other medical practitioners, they are made to pick their speciality early during their study, and in return, they graduate as specialists. Also, it instils confidence into them with the mindset that they know everything in their field. In conclusion, while diverse academic exposure might be important for undergraduates, learning a particular skill will go a long way in shaping them to become a professional. Therefore, less half-baked graduates in the labour market.