Do computer games have a positive or negative impact on children?

Computer games are increasingly becoming intensive like never before. While some argue that video games help to activate the brain, others say that it causes adverse ramifications on youngsters. This essay supports the latter argument and provides reasons to the agreement. The foremost negative effect of gaming on young minds is digital diversion. In the developmental age, parents send their children to school to provide the best education, but since they are easily distracted to amusing gadgets, students get involved in games and lose interest in studies. Kiara, a student from City College has admitted that her grades have drastically decreased due to constant gaming. This clearly proves that the gaming gadgets deviates the student’s focus. Another adverse effect computer games can cause among growing children is lack of social skills. Previously, the young ones would pass their after-school time with peers in neighbourhood while playing games like hide and seek, ice and water to name a few. These games were proven to be effective in building social skills for being able to build qualities to express, communicate and understand and agree to other’s views in contrast to the games on the system where the child sits alone. Hence, it is obvious that the child becomes socially awkward in later stages of life. In conclusion, digital gaming in life of a child will only bring damaging situation. Parents need to be vigilant in watching children’s activities and they must encourage the best practices such as group studies or games rather than letting the child become less productive and lonely.