Many people these days have computers, laptops, telephones at their homes for work. Do you think the advantages of working from home are more than disadvantages?

Our modern society has allowed technology to be portable, thus enabling employees easy access to their assignments when they are out of the office. I am of the opinion that this a positive development and that there are more benefits than drawbacks. This essay will explain the reasons why. Firstly, people are now able to complete their tasks without having to travel down to their work place. This takes the pressure off having to rush at the office and it gives staff more flexibility in planning out their schedule. For instance, a parent that needs to pick their children quickly after work can do so knowing with confidence that they can resume working on their project in the comfort of their own home. In addition, studies have shown that having this flexibility improves the morale of a company as a whole. However, allowing people to bring laptops and mobile phones limit work life balance as there will now be no excuses for not meeting deadlines. There will also be an increased in the expectation of employers to their subordinates that they should be contactable at all times. This could increase their stress levels, which will in turn make them unhappy, leading to a higher turnover rate for an organization. In conclusion, I believe that the merits of bringing home technology far outweighs its demerits as there are many ways to manage the workload of the organization. Companies could restructure aspects of their task planning in such a way that their employees do not feel that carrying home a notebook computer will be a burden when their working hours are up.