International events like the football World Cup other international sports occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is true that international games have contributed towards reducing tensions among nations and have presented an opportunity to demonstrate emotions of patriotism. I completely agree with this view and this essay will elucidate reasons which will support my view. To begin with, these events provide an opportunity for the people of disputed nations come along and understand each other. This is because players play against each other on the ground as well as spectators meet other countries' residents while watching the game. This helps them to know each other and try to build an amicable relationship. For example, it has been witnessed in the game of football when a player is injured, other team members come forward to help them. Additionally, a skilled player is always hailed and respected irrespective of which county he belongs to. For instance, when a batsman in cricket scores a century, he is appreciated by almost every spectator in the stadium. Talking about the demonstration of patriotic feelings, this feeling lies in almost every citizen of the nation, and they are eager to show them in every way they can; thereby, sports, as a stage to show love for the nation, is the best platform. For instance, while a player dedicates his time and leaves his family to travel across the globe to represent his team, some spectators travel to other countries to back their teams. As a result, we see massive attendance at these tournaments such as the Olympics, where audience from every part of the world converge in support of their respective teams. In conclusion, with the kind gestures by players on the field and appreciation of crowd for exceptional performances in these games, peace is being promoted internationally. Also, this has given a platform to present sentiments of love towards nation by sacrificing the time and energy to support their national sides in the game.