Some of the people ay that it would be better if the majorities of the employees worked from home instead of travelling to work place everyday. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages.

The internet has helped us to access anything from anywhere today. As a result, there are new doors open for employers to allow employees to telecommute. This can be advantageous to both, employees and employers in many ways, but there are certain drawbacks too which will be discussed in the further paragraphs. Firstly, telecommuting saves commuting time as employees who are travelling from a distance or those who do not own vehicles need not to travel anymore. In addition, it also saves travelling expenses. Secondly, employees can take care of their family. For instance, they can drop their children to school or available at the time of any emergencies. Furthermore, in case of bad weather, the work is not hampered as employees are working from home. Apart from this, it reduces the cost on the office space and utilities. Lastly, work life balance is maintained and employees are highly retained because of the job satisfaction. On the down side, employees do not receive office culture at home as it lacks corporate interactions and office decorum. Furthermore, there is no team leader or manager to guide them or to teach them new things. Additionally, it is very difficult for them to balance home and work together. Also, employees need to bear internet connection charges to maintain the productivity level. Last but not the least, employees do not get expected growth in monetary as well as promotion terms as there is no one to judge them how they are performing. To conclude, it can be deduced that although there are few disadvantages, telecommuting is a gift to employees as it provides many facilities to them by all means and its advantages outweighs the disadvantages and over all it is a win-win situation.