Some people think that a sense of competition should be encouraged in children. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it has become a debatable topic in the society that children should be taught to be competitive or cooperative. However, while some think that they should be cooperative which will enable them good citizen in the future, I agree with those who feel that they should be competitive. On the one hand, it could be argued that cooperating is a useful feature which allows children to have the skills of a good human being in the future. It is said that an age of child is very sensitive which allows us to mould them with the quality of co-operation. This is because these skills will teach them to complete any given task with the support of each member of a group. Moreover, supporters of teaching co-operation said that such skills will allow them to be a good leader in the future. For instance, a teacher has given play to the team of five members to act, so that the children could learn the feeling of co-operation among them and acquire the skill of leadership. On the other hand, I would argue that children should be taught the skills competition. I believe that any child is taught to be competitive right from the beginning, and these will foster them to be always one step ahead with their competitors. For instance, most children study very hard to have the highest marks in the class, so that they will get a good college in the future; also, this will enable them to be competitive for getting a good job in the long run. Besides this, in my opinion, we should not inculcate a lot the feeling of competition among children as they could choose the path of cheating if it is not achieved. In conclusion, although it is undeniable that cooperation allows children to possess the skills of becoming a great leader in the future, competition always keep them one step ahead than their competitors. Therefore, on balance, I believe that pupils should be taught the feeling of competition rather than co-operation to be good adult in the future.