Write about the following topic: Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. . Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, countries around the world are using solar energy as the source of electricity for domestic purposes and it is gaining popularity worldwide. This is because it costs less in the long run, as it is abundantly available from the sun. The main advantages are low cost of maintenance and pollution free, whereas the disadvantages are high cost of installation and not suited for regions with least amount of sunlight. To begin with, Solar power plants produce electricity from the sun rays which is a free source of energy. This means that it is stored and available to use without any charges being paid. For instance, many independent houses in Germany save 37% on their energy bills by having solar plants on the roof of their houses. Additionally, it does not release any harmful gases or pollutants while generating power, so it also helps in the conservation of the environment. However, the cost of installing the plant on the roof top of the house is enormous, as the cost of the panels and the battery required to store and generate electricity are very high. As a result, many people are still using the conventional sources of energy. Furthermore, it cannot be installed in the regions receiving very low sunlight like the arctic region. For example, Antartica does not have many sunny days because of which the sun will not shine on the panels throughout the year and it will be difficult to use it as a primary source of energy. Solar power has its limitations and hence it is not feasible for every country. In conclusion, many households around the world are utilising solar energy for their domestic use and it is becoming an increasing trend world over. It is due to its efficiency in saving money and keeping the planet clean and green. This essay discussed both merits and demerits of solar energy.