Although the prices of fuels have greatly increased over the last decade or two, it is argued that further increases in fuel prices are the only way to reduce world consumption of fuel and lessen pressure on the world’s fuel resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Oil, gas and coal are non-renewable energy resources. It is worldwide known fact that society highly depends on it and eventually the world will run out of those due to heavy consumption. Also, the prices of such resources have been increased significantly in last two decades. It is argued that the only way to decrease the consumption of fuel is to further increase pricing. Currently, most people think in the present and do not consider the consequences for the future. Therefore, to affect people in their daily usage of fuel, the government increases the price. Even though the fuel prices are high enough to force them towards the use of the public transport, there is no gigantic change. In fact, people are using more private vehicles nowadays, that proves the government’s theory wrong. On the positive side, there is burgeoning change in the mode of transportation for few developed countries such as electric cars and electric buses. On the other hand, such significant change in fuel cost would not only affect the individual, but it would make a huge detrimental impact on the economy. Fuel prices are not only linked to transport, but also to food production, home heating, electricity and entertainment. Such that, even tiny rise in all these areas would seriously affect the standard of living. Moreover, price hike in fuel helps oil company revenues and creates imbalance in the society. To sum up, raising advancing or becoming higher or greater in degree or value or status rising fuel cost is one of the most commonly discussed and applied solution to fuel consumption but it has too many negative variables. I certainly disagree with this methodology to avoid the far reaching unfair and unstable effects.