Every country should have a free health service even if this means the latest medical treatment may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree

In the world today, the importance of health care services cannot be overemphasized, which is why it should be made available at no cost to the citizens. However, I do not believe that this should be at the expense of quality medical advancements. Firstly, the outcome of any medical service provided is very important and this has been improved to a great extent by modern medical development. Now, making diagnosis and treatment is easier and less invasive. For example, using a laparoscopic machine to perform the surgery has reduced the risk of surgical site infections and surgical scars. Furthermore, providing completely free health services creates a financial burden on the government. Funds from other important sectors like education and provision of social amenities would be diverted into the health system. When this becomes difficult, it could lead to a collapse in the health system. This is why the government has designed a health insurance policy that has made health care both affordable and sustainable. On the other hand, more people would benefit from medical management when it is free. Citizens that are financially handicapped would be able to afford quality health care which would, in turn, improve the overall health status. In conclusion, delivering health services to members of the society at no cost is important, but this should not replace quality and modern medicine which helps in making an accurate diagnosis, prompt treatment, and improved outcome.