Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views on how best to decrease the amount road traffic accidents. While some argue that strict punishments should be adopted, I believe that there are more effective ways to tackle this issue. There are several reasons why people believe that stricter punishments would ensure safety on our roads. They argue that road users and drivers would be discouraged from breaking traffic rules, with the knowledge that great punishments in the form of heavy fines and imprisonment awaits them when caught in the act. Secondly, it would be a source of revenue generation. By placing huge fines for certain offences such as over-speeding and traffic light violation, the state would gain financially and funds generated would be utilized in other sectors of the economy. On the other hand, several other methods are more effective in my opinion and would prevent accidents from occurring in the first place. Imposing punishments on offenders can be described as medicine after death, these disciplinary measures simply cannot bring back the lives that may have been lost or the health of victims of these unfortunate events. However, government can invest in improving the quality of roads, proper maintenance of these roads, building of pedestrian bridges and speed bumps while also investing on proper training of road workers. In conclusion, inasmuch as stringent disciplinary measures would be effective in cutting down the number of mishaps on our motorways. I believe that taking appropriate steps to prevent them in the first place would be the best approach.