Education is not a luxury but a basic human right & as such should be free for everyone irrespective of personal wealth. Do you agree or disagree

Since the beginning of the civilization, literacy has been what many people crave and desire. Suggestions were made that education should be free and accessible to everyone. I completely disagree with this statement, due to the fact that benefits of charge-free learning do not outweigh the drawbacks. First and foremost, completely free studies would bring a number of disadvantages. If something is given away without any costs, it is usually considered worthless. The same could quickly happen with education, as anyone could enrol in it with little effort. As a result, the quality of higher education would decrease significantly, scarcity of qualified professors would occur and academics would become less self-motivated. In addition, there are a number of ways to make students pay less for their pursuit of a degree. The universities often offer scholarships for ones, whose academic performance meet their standards. Moreover, the student loans had been introduced to help academics from less affluent backgrounds. Therefore, education and knowledge can be achieved without big expanses. For example, my aunt, now a lawyer at the Constitutional Court of Lithuania, took out a loan, so she could finish her masters degree. In conclusion, higher education is a goal of a large part of the population. As far as I am concerned, it ought to be only available for hard-working and motivated ones, therefore tuition fees must remain the same.