Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A group of individuals present the view that all students should be taught their favourite field of study, whereas others believe they have to pass only the courses that will be useful in the future. I strongly agree with the former opinion. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that if people study the subject that they are interested in them, they are more likely to succeed in their lives. Some researchers confirm that students who find their field of study interesting are willing to study harder and they do not view their subject’s difficulties as something intolerable. Moreover, these students are more likely to obtain higher educational achievements which can lead to better career prospects. Consequently, if we let students study their favourite subject it will be a great help to them to have a much happier life. On the other hand, another group of people claim that if students study the main subjects that are emphasized in colleges and universities nowadays, they will achieve greater accomplishments in their careers. They insist that subjects like science and mathematics play a vital role in one’s success and only these kinds of subjects should be taught to students. However, I do not find this argument convincing because, if we do not care about students ’ interests and compel them to study some particular subjects, then we will put them into some complex situations. From a social point of view, if students find their subjects boring and too much difficult, they are more likely to suffer from depression in the future. To conclude, in my view, we should let students choose and pass their favorite courses which obviously can lead to a better life for them. Moreover, obliging students to study their disfavored subjects can have numerous adverse effects on their lives.