News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news, and would it be better if more good news was reported?

Nowadays, it is difficult to believe everything that is on news channels because most of the topics are consciously chosen, modified as per the interest of editors. Several factors influence in doing so and even we are habituated to these kind of news. I believe certainly it would be better when these were mainly positive stories rather than harsh ones. Multiple reasons can be attributed in influencing these decisions of news editors. One such aspect is the revenue that can be generated by broadcasting certain types of news. For instance, reports about the crime, war, devastation and so on are watched and read several times by the public thus it becomes a source of income for press. Another important factor can be a political propaganda. This is to say, some news channels are bribed by political parties to promote their agendas and image. One good example of this is a recent conflict over CNN and Fox news channel since they stood for and against the American president. In short, money and fame by linking with a person in power could be the factors for the editors in favouring certain topics. Of course, I am convinced that we have become used to bad news because we have started ignoring positive reports and articles. This is consequently because the majority of news portals highlights, focus, exaggerate negative events and destructions. For example, many people in the world do not know the news that Cuba became the first country to be plastic free, but almost everyone knows the list of the most populated cities of the globe. Definitely, the earth would be a better place if more of the good stories were circulated. Eventually the press would start looking for joyous events happening around the periphery. This would send positive message to the people and ultimately help in spreading love and peace. A case in point to note is unity of people during sporting events and festivals. In conclusion, the news editors deliberately select topics to publish or broadcast as they are greedy for income and popularity hence made us habituated to disheartening news. It would definitely be nice to hear and watch happy stories on television or newspaper.