Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.To what extent do you agree?

It is often thought that rather than allowing certain convicts to rot in jail, they should be assigned community work without pay. I strongly believe that some criminals should be engaged to provide free services to the society they live instead of being put behind bars. I will discuss two major reasons why I think so in subsequent paragraphs. Some convicts should be made to perform humanitarian jobs rather serve jail terms because they will be a source of free labour in the country, and money that would have been spent in providing these public services will be saved. In Britain, for example, as against locking up, convicted street touts are assigned public roads to sweep throughout the duration of their time and the British government have saved millions that could have been spent on road maintenance through this practice. As a result of this reason I feel some kinds of criminals should be punished in this manner. Another reason why I think that unpaid public service is an appropriate punishment for some criminals is that they may become changed people at the end of the service term. This is because while serving humanity, these convicts may realize what love for other people means; hence, they may be touched to continue to give this love even after their term is over. For example, a recent research carried out by the students of psychology department of the University of Lagos showed that the ability of twenty-five percent of criminals in Get Well Prison to tolerate others had increased after they had served their jail period. Therefore, unpaid social work for particular crimes should be promoted In conclusion, offenders should be made to provide free humanitarian assistance because they are a source of cheap labour and it may help them become better people.