Weddings are more expensive in many countries comparison present and past. What is the reason behind this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, many countries have witnessed an exponential rise in grand wedding parties in comparison to the past. The essay will discuss the various reasons and elaborate on why this is a negative development. Firstly, people have lots of extra money at their disposal, compared to the past. Secondly, the impact of media on people. There are justifiable evidences that these two things coupled are majorly responsible for people spending lavishly on their weddings. For instance, through social media pictures and videos of celebrities are made viral, and people set it as a benchmark for themselves. Moreover, trying to emulate such wedding people end up spending way too much. In addition, it often becomes a trend and is followed by everyone. Thus, in order to set high societal standards, people end up splurging extra cash. However, such weddings are known to have a detrimental effect on the whole community. Due to the high wedding standard set, many people are forced to take loans and meet the desired wedding criteria. For example, in India in the year 2010 around 20% people use to take loan for wedding purpose, which has now grown to around 70% in 2019. Moreover, the family along with the newly wedded couple face tremendous pressure in terms of repaying back the loans. There have even been instances where people have reported to have suffered from anxiety and stress, thus having adverse health effects. To conclude, an increment in people's wealth along with the desire to impress people may be the cause of expensive weddings. However, there are irrefutable claims that it comes at the expense of massive stress caused by some people.