An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

Nowadays, The internet has impacted multiple spheres of human life. It provides us the services which make human life easier. Online shopping is one of the most impactful services which has been made possible by the internet. It has both advantages and disadvantages for individuals and companies. One of the most important benefits that online shopping has provided lies within its definition, that is, anyone can purchase anything within a few minutes. The purchased goods are delivered door to door and so there is no need for an individual to go and buy. It allows consumers to select the items they want from a wider range of products as goods are available from multiple vendors. Another advantage is that more employment opportunities have been created for both skilled and unskilled labour. For instance, skilled labour, such as engineers etc., are employed for maintaining and improving the services of the e-commerce sites and some of the sections of unskilled labour gets employed as delivery partners. By putting the products online for purchase, the seller companies and local vendors get the benefit of better sales and revenue. However, like every coin has two sides, online shopping has some disadvantages as well. Because now multiple things are available just at one click, people are encouraged to buy stuff they do not actually need. Some studies show that the chances of the person to become a Shopaholic have been increased by 20 percent with the  introduction of online shopping. Another disadvantage is that there are chances that a person will not like the product that has been ordered for multiple reasons such as colour is different or the quality of the product is not up to the mark. This causes mental stress to the consumers. The sellers on the e-commerce sites have to pay them with certain amounts for each order and hence, there is the decrease of the profit. Multiple goods available for sale online are fake, but there is no way to check the authenticity of the product before purchase. As a result, there is a significant drop in the credibility of the company. To conclude, buying things online has numerous benefits and but the drawbacks should not be ignored. Both the consumers and companies must be aware of the malign practices and should be careful, so that they are not deceived.