Modern building change the character and appearance of towns and cities.The government should insist that new buildings be built in traditional styles to protect cultural identity.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the character and appearance of towns and cities change with the widespread of modern buildings. The government should protect the cultural heritage, by putting emphasis on building infrastructure inspired by traditional building style instead of contemporary style. I disagree with the statement. This essay will first discuss why modern buildings are necessary for nature and why building them won' t affect the cultural identity. Firstly, changing infrastructure continuously with the current trend signifies why changing it with the environment is necessary. This is to say, today's buildings focus on designs, such as fibreglass designs, that are more eco-friendly, as compared to buildings that were built in the past. As a consequence, they will contribute towards a better environment in the future. For example, according to a report by The Times in 2018, it was found that countries that continuously adapt to infrastructure designs based on the environment's needs will have 50% less pollution than the countries that don' t. Secondly, new designs won' t affect the cultural identity, as these designs help preserve the current heritage of the community and link it with the past. In other words, these designs help the people in society understand the importance of the current values and beliefs and connect them with the past's culture. For instance, it was reported by The History Channel in 2018, that towns, that base their infrastructure with today's trends, understand and carry their orthodox traditions better than the cities that don' t. In conclusion, this essay strongly believes that modern buildings are relevant as they help build infrastructure, which is good for nature and at the same time, they don' t harm the cultural persona of a city if anything they help preserving the current persona and connect it with the past.