More people live alone today than they did in the past. Do you think that this is a positive or a negative development ? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

In this expeditiously evolving world, humans, who were once known as social animals, are now travelling solo in their journey of life. Some pragmatists propound that it is a positive development. However, I believe that there are numerous negative aspects attached to it. This contentious topic has been profoundly debated in several forums. I will reason my outlook diligently before implicating a rational conclusion. Throwing light on my view, I reckon that the rate of suicide and depression has proliferated in the last few decades as people are fighting their battles alone. Consequently, their team player’s ability and emotional intelligence have dwindled. To illustrate, many organisations, these days organise special workshops for their employees, who is suffering from loneliness and alleviated productivity. Furthermore, the introvert proportion in our attitude is burgeoning since we tend to hide our feelings. As a result, our relations at the workplace and in family are deteriorating. Paradoxically, some savants accentuate that millennials these days get a higher bandwidth to explore their strengths and weaknesses because they spend more time alone. Because of this, they not only work on their grey areas, but also ameliorate their personality. To illustrate this, after spending almost two hours daily with myself to work on my English speaking, I have improved it a lot. Moreover, meditation, which needs a peaceful environment, helps us to calm our mind and increase our efficiency. To sum up, I believe that spending time with oneself is an imperative part of our daily routine, although we should engage ourselves with people and events happening around us. Hence, it is advisable to maintain a balance as this will help us to keep our social skills active.