Although the prices of fuels have greatly increased over the last decade or two, it is argued that further increases in fuel prices are the only way to reduce world consumption of fuel and lessen pressure on the world’s fuel resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

A school of thought believes that by increasing the fuel price is the only method to curb world consumption of fuel and reduce pressure on the world's fuel resources. However, the other proportion of people tends to differ from this approach. In my opinion, I agree with the latter view as the fuel prices have already been raised over the decade or two, which did not impact the usage of fuel by the public. There are various other methods could help to reduce fuel consumption. People should be aware of hazards that are caused by the over usage of fuel that leads to pollution. For instance, research conducted by the World Environment Organization demonstrated that the main reason for pollution if the over usage of fuel. Because of excessive burning of fuel the environment becomes polluted, which is the key reason for the damage in the Ozone layer. Therefore, to avoid further damages people should have a check over their fuel consumption. Secondly, the government should encourage people to commute with the help of public transportation. For example, an extensive study by the world pollution control board illustrated that when people choose to opt for public transport rather than private vehicles, 50% of the pressure on fuel will be brought down. Hence, not only the pressure on this renewable resource will be less but also the pollution will be limited. Consequently, fuel consumption and pollution will be less if the nation is lured towards public transportation. Finally, awareness of cycling should be spread among the country to lead a healthy lifestyle, which indirectly lowers the intake of fuel. In conclusion, even though a society of people thinks that an increase in fuel price will decrease its sales. I strongly believe that educating people about the problems caused by pollution, encouraging the use of public transport and motivating cyclist will be the most effective solutions to control the purchase of fuel.