Some people think the best way to motivate and encourage people to work hard is to pay them based on how much they produce and sell. Do you agree or disagree? Include relevant examples from your own.

It is believed by most people that a more effective way to encourage people to be hard working is to pay them based on their productivity, while a few others do not agree with this position. In my opinion, the best way to track output is to pay based on hard work from the employed people’s viewpoint and from the employer’s perspective. Several Organizations now understood the psyche of employees, noting that that human wants are endless and fixed income at some point do not satisfy the needs of staff. Resultantly, to have a well motivated workforce, the Human Capital Unit of organizations would rather pay workers based on target achieved than a fixed salary. In effect, they set either monthly or annual goals and pay in excess of the target met. For example, what is obtainable in Stanbic IBTC Bank, where staff salary increases annually based on the percentage of task achieved. Additionally, from the standpoint of employees, they would rather have a regular increase in their pay not minding the extra work demand. Furthermore, they know the extent of toil they put in daily to the growth of their company and would prefer a form of stakeholder reward. Meaning, when they perform well, which invariably increases the company’s gross earnings, they should be paid adequately for a job well done and this will further increase their output and zeal to work. In conclusion, both from the perspective of the employer and that of the employee, payment based on a reward system motivates doggedness than a fixed salary structure, which may not meet employees financial demand, thus resulting in long term clamour for increased pay or may lead to having a disgruntled workforce.