Some people think that children should be taught to be competitive at school. Others, however, say that cooperation and team working skills are more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by some schools that ought to teach children to compete, while there are others who believe that it is better to teach them how to be cooperative and a team worker. In my opinion, I believe that teaching children to be cooperative and a team player helps them to be more successful as students and later as adults. Schools would be more effective if they promote a competitive spirit in children, according to some. In other words, children who engage in competition at school are usually more motivated to try harder and, therefore, are more likely to excel in their studies which can in turn boost their self-confidence and self-esteem. In addition to this, learning to compete with others can heighten children`s creativity and develop their problem solving skills because, in order to win, children need to find the most effective way which ensures their success. However, some argue that teaching children how to work with others and to participate in team works would help them acquire more useful skills and I agree. Cooperation among children can help develop very important social skills like the ability for social interaction and negotiation which are not only helpful in their academic studies but can be very helpful to them later as adults. As a matter of fact, people are born as social beings and cannot lead an isolated life, and thus, learning how to work with others is a vital skill that they need to develop from childhood. In conclusion, although it is thought by some that schools should attend to creating a competitive spirit in children, I believe that it would be more helpful to children in both school and later in their adult life if they are encouraged to be cooperative and a good team player.