Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth rather than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people. To What extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an unfortunate reality of today's world that majority adore and praise media personalities, not for their accomplishments, but merely for their charm and riches. I agree that this view certainly has an adverse impact on gullible youth, in particular, who believes such worldly possessions as the ace of human achievement. However, there are exceptions to it. This essay sheds some light on how young minds perceive success, idealizing celebrities while many amongst them lack the qualities to look up to. Firstly, youth forgets that there is no shortcut to fame and fortune, rather they are the outcomes of a strong determination, disciplined lifestyle and endless dedication. Celebrities’ real artistry should be inspirational to the young generations, whereas, youth only fantasizes their extravagant lifestyle and unrealistic beauty standards. Consequently, a person with wealth and beauty becomes an idol for many without having any righteous personality. For instance, disregarding social and charitable work of the superstars is definitely a wrong possession of their true personality which sets substandard inspiration for youngsters. On the other hand, not all adolescents are credulous. They consider the blood, sweat and tears behind the wealth and glamour. For them a mega star is an epitome of struggle, perseverance and achievement. For example, Mary Kom, the renowned world champion boxer might lack glamour and wealth compared to other celebs, but she is an honourable inspiration to youngsters. In conclusion, having analysed how worldly possessions, can affect minors’ perception towards success, it is proven that this does set a faulty example. Hence, minors should be encouraged to realise that, a man's worth should not be judged by his possessions, rather by the journey he goes through to achieve those.