Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand and what measures can governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

It is understandable that a usable freshwater has been a restricted resource in some countries around the world. However, the requirement of using natural water has grown from the past until now and become a worldwide problem. Therefore, some causes and solutions to these issues will be discussed. The first cause to consider is that demanding of water resources is used for human consumption. This issue comes from urban and rural communities requiring water for drinking, sanitation and drainage. Particularly, most people ultimately consume 3,000 litres of water per day, according to the Ted-Ed video. Moreover, the majority of people spend water in an additional area, especially in their households for cooking and gardening. However, sensible solutions have been put forward to address the problems. People must limit indoor and outdoor uses of water individually, such as reducing washing garments, decreasing watering gardens, and cutting down washing cars. Therefore, these activities allow people to reduce water uses. Moreover, a further aspect of increasing water utilization is agricultural sectors. Agriculture withdraws the natural resources from rivers and ocean to maintain crops on the land and other products on the farm. This accounted for 70% of all water that is used in every area. Notably, requesting for water during drought period enhance the overall water operation on land. Furthermore, the booming demand for livestock products has escalated the demand for water from time to time. There are potential ways to tackle problems. To avoid over-watering crops, farmers carefully monitor the weather forecast and adapt their irrigation schedule to the current conditions. Actually, the government should create an embankment for farmers to capture rainfall for use in the farming land throughout the year. Consequently, they possibly have long term products in the field. For the reasons mentioned above, it can be concluded that natural water is extremely vital resources for everyone. With this reason, the demand for water is increasing and turn into global issues. Although water consumption is a serious issue, there are steps that governments and individuals are able to reduce the problems.