Waste disposal problems are increasing especially in urban areas. Suggest what government and individuals should do to help reduce the amount of rubbish production and disposal of it.

Managing the growing waste material, largely produced by industrialization and single-use products, has become challenging for nations across the globe. The global strategy of reducing, recycling and reusing has been applied to combat this rubbish problem. This essay will discuss the causes for high trash production and suggest some measures that can help to reduce it. Industries have been surreptitiously releasing liquid waste in the oceans, lakes or rivers and also have incinerated the entire solid waste to circumvent the process of recycling. This practice has caused water pollution as well as air pollution, which eventually leads to global heating. The rules to recycle the garbage have already been established by the government; however, it is important that a committee should be formed which closely monitors the abidance of industries against recycling laws, and if any deviations are found in compliance with these laws, heavy penalties should be imposed on those industries. Alone recycling will not help the cause, the real problem is single-use lifestyle- products which are dumped after using once. As profligate consumerism has raised the demand for new products, manufacturing activities have grown significantly. To make matters worse, even if recycled items are sold, because these secondhand products are regarded as inferior in the society, people are averse to shopping them. It is time that we educate people about the consequences of reckless shopping habits and bring back the fashion of using recycled items. This will cultivate ecologically literate and socially aware consumerism, which will help in cutting down the production of trash. In conclusion, recycling is imperative; however, if we are not curtailing the excessive consumption of products to successfully reduce wastage, we will be left chasing our own tail. ​