Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Some people suggest that the circumstances of a crime, and the reasons for committing it should be taken into consideration when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some argue that a pre-defined punishment should be given based on the crime. However, others argue that things such as reasons behind a crime and what drove the culprit to commit a crime should all be taken into account before punishing an individual. In my opinion, I believe that all of the facts and figures should be considered when deciding a life altering decision. Those who are in favour of pre-defined punishments claims that this will be cost effective and efficient. In other words, since the punishment is fixed all that a jury needs to know if the culprit is guilty or not. Once this is decided the judge could easily sentence the punishment based on the law making the whole judicial system fast and efficient whereas, previously it would have taken years to conclude a case costing an enormous amount of taxpayer's money. Furthermore, since the punishments are fixed an offender would exactly know the severity of the punishment, hence, pre-determined crimes would decline. For instance, a bank robber on parole breaking into another financial institute would exactly know their consequences when caught. Others who oppose pre-defined punishment claims that there are always more than one side to a story. Humans primarily make decisions and take actions based on emotions and feelings. Hence, it is vital for a judge and for the jury to hear and see through a person's reasoning before making a judgement call. In addition, even though a crime is made by an individual there can be compelling reasons for the jury to free a person from its crime based on situation, compassion and empathy. For example, a destitute stealing a loaf of a bread to feed his poverty-stricken family can be granted a free pass based on the three above stated reasons. In conclusion, I strongly believe that pre-defined punishments will not aid an individual to correct themselves instead, it will make people lose hope and belief in the judicial system which is ultimately the last place to get justice.