A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. What are the advantages and disadvantaged of tourism in the modern world?

In today’s world, many countries count on tourism as one of the major industries that generates substantial profits. However, if not managed properly, this overreliance may pose significant challenges. When it comes to my standpoint on the provided matter, I agree that this sector is undeniably a sector that offers a myriad of benefits, if we do not consider the management issues. To commence with, tourism can provide various benefits for nations. When there is an inflow of tourists, it creates opportunities for economic growth. For example, a well-established tourism system within the country can capture the attention of investors who are ready to invest a great amount of money, which in turn benefits the home nation as it can use investment to improve infrastructure, educational institutions, technological devices used in production processes and supports its national competitiveness worldwide. Moreover, the creation of new employment chances should not be ignored which aids people to maintain their source of income and raises the well-being of those individuals who work in hotels, restaurants, tour guide companies and so on. On the other hand, the leisure industry has its own drawbacks. As the number of travellers increases, there can be some detrimental effects on environmental sustainability, especially for places with lower and weak regulations of the environment. For instance, a degree of damage or loss can be a huge burden for the visited destination, if the journeyers do not give sufficient attention to keep the stability of the local area. Another noteworthy point is that, depending too much on this field may have adverse impacts on the financial situation, if any crisis or pandemic interrupts the arrival of sightseers. In conclusion, tourism is a major contributor to economic development, although there can be several concerns. That is why, I believe that by overcoming problems such as managing effectively, considerations for clean nature and so on, it can become the most crucial method of generating revenue for the government.