In education and employment, some people work harder than others. Why do people work harder? Is it always a good thing to work hard.

Owing to some reasons, few people like to make extra efforts at their institutes and workplaces as compared to their peers. This essay will outline the reasons behind this, and discuss why, I believe, in spite of its merits, it also has demerits. At the outset, there could be various causes for which individuals like to work harder. Firstly, from a career perspective, career progression is one of the motivators that drive employees to outperform. Because it can lead to better chances of promotions, huge wages, bonuses and other non-monetary rewards. As a result, such hard workers can reap the bounties of their dedication towards works. Secondly, in the case of education, owing to the urge of getting appreciation, students are encouraged to put extra efforts into their curriculum. Because teachers are more likely to appreciate such brilliant children, who have got good grades. Obviously, by performing better they can choose their majors in their interesting sectors such as Medical, Science and Space research. Therefore, working hard can provide significant rewards for highly motivated people. Moving on, while industriousness is considered as a formula that leads to success, overwork could have negative outcomes. By making extra efforts not only the pupils can enjoy the success at their academies, but also hardworking workforce can reach the top-notch positions. As a result, they can live a highly admired materialistic life. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, for example, once a tea vendor, is now enjoying a successful political career due to his industriousness. However, the obsession with career and education might be a cause of physical and psychological disorders. People, who are over-indulged into their interested field, perhaps may not bother about their diet, hygiene and recreation, and its negative effects could be dire ailments like diabetes, hypertension and many more. A report published in the Times of India revealed that school-going children are suffering from various health complications because of stress due to over-study. In conclusion, although hard work can be beneficial to have better study and successful career, not all the consequences of its have been positive.