Some people believe that teaching music in schools is a vital part of growing up and the human experience, whilst others believe that teaching music in schools is a waste of time and resources. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Of late, imparting knowledge of music to children has become an essential part of the school curriculum everywhere in the world. Although it is believed by some that music plays an important role in children's development by enhancing their outlook and sharpens self-awareness, while others differ. In this essay, I will examine both these views and explain why I agree that the education of music should be promoted in schools. To commence with, providing knowledge of music to children has been the need of the hour. Music, in whichever form, such as instrumental or classical provides a soothing effect to the mind and body of the students. The growth of humans is directly attributed to the positive aspects of music as it provides an impetus for the physical and psychological development of the pupils. For instance, research conducted at Western Sydney University reveals that 60% of students who have got early access to music in school outperformed their peers in higher education and in the sports domain as well. Furthermore, if school kids are exposed to music in early school life, then it would help them to develop niche music skills, thereby allowing them to follow it as a professional career. On the flip side, other people, however, do not support music education in school. These people are of the misconception that it would result in wasting precious time of children that they would have, otherwise, utilized in studying the core subjects such as Science, Mathematics, or Geography. Thus, to these supporters, spending money on music is a waste of the school ’s tangible resources and parents' tuition fees. To conclude, although it is believed by some that school should prohibit and discard music classes in schools, I opine that music should be an indispensable part of the student’s curriculum as it will help in the overall development of the children. Therefore, all the necessary measures should be adopted by schools to persuade parents to encourage their children to learn music.