Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In today's competitive world, people are working longer hours than they used to do in the past; as a result, they get very little time for leisure activities. Spending less time on relaxing activities can have a negative impact on emotional and physical health although it can help people to save more money. This essay describes both the advantages and the disadvantages of working late and getting a little time to relax, moreover, I believe this has more disadvantages. The major advantages of working long hours and spending less time on leisure activities are earning and saving more money. Firstly, in most developed countries wages are paid on an hourly basis, which means by working long hours’ people can earn more money. Secondly, it has been observed that some of the leisure activities are expensive and getting less time for these activities can help individuals to save more money. For example, some people consider shopping as a leisure activity; therefore, they can save the most amount of money by getting little or no time for shopping. However, working late and getting less time to relax can adversely affect one’s personal and professional life. Firstly, it can increase the level of stress because of work pressure. Secondly, getting less personal time can lead towards depression. Thirdly, working long hours and getting less time to relax or workout can negatively affect one’s physical health. In conclusion, although working extra hours and spending less time on relaxing activities can help in saving more money; however, the disadvantages of working long hours and spending less time on leisure activities exceed the advantages.