Some people think the purpose of education is to prepare the future workforce and make good members of society. Others think the purpose of education should lead to self-fulfillment. What is your opinion?

The controversial topic concerning education never fails to attract public attention. There has been a heated debate on whether the purpose of learning is to prepare the future workforce and make good members of society. As far as I am concerned, I tend to be an advocate regarding this issue. In this essay we will discuss different parameters about the purpose of education. It is reasonable for me to believe that educational institutions are the forerunners of knowledge, and we can gain useful skills through education. Firstly, individuals can learn various knowledge in schools and universities. For example, postgraduate students can learn data analysis and computer science on campus, and after that, they are more likely to find a desirable job when they enter the workforce. Moreover, schools are the place not only teach knowledge but also improve students' moral codes, making them be good members of society. However, there is a common belief that the purpose of learning can lead to self-fulfilment. First and foremost, reading enables ambiguous individuals to achieve their life goals and career achievement. For instance, students who graduate from the Ivy league can find employment on Wall Street easily, giving them a good starting point and excellent interpersonal resources. Therefore, they have a greater possibility to enjoy a successful life and fulfil themselves. To sum up, I am more incline with the idea that the purpose of study is to prepare for the future workforce and make good members of society, even though education can also help individuals fulfil their dream.