Improvements in health, education and trade are essential for the development of poorer nations. Some people believe that governments of richer nations should take more responsibility for helping poorer nations in such areas. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people believe that governments of richer nations should do more to help poorer nations improve their healthcare, education and trade. I completely agree with this view. There are two main reasons why governments of wealthier nations should provide more assistance to poorer nations. First, in contributing to the development of the latter, that brings indirect benefits to the former themselves. The poorer basic social services and economic opportunities in a country are, the more of its people attempt to emigrate in search of a better life, worsening the problem of illegal immigration for richer countries. In addition, poverty and underdevelopment make a country extremely prone to civil conflicts; when these happen, as they currently are in parts of the Middle East and Africa, what the developed world has to deal with is no longer simply rampant illegal immigration but massive refugee crises. The second of said reasons is a moral one. Making a greater effort to help developing nations improve the wellbeing of their citizens is a very commendable thing for governments of developed nations to do. My opinion is that no humans in the 21 st century deserve to live in severe material deprivation; it does not stand to reason that while we have successfully travelled into space, a significant proportion of humanity still does not have access to clean running water, go hungry on a regular basis and die premature deaths because of a lack of basic healthcare. In conclusion, my conviction is that governments of first-world countries should do more to help third-world countries improve their basic social services and economies.