Some people say that the current obsession with technology and the internet means that we are creating a generation of people that have poor social skills. Do you agree with this statement?

A group of people believes that depending too much on technology and online networks in the internet result in having a society with people who lack proper communication abilities in the future. I reckon it is totally accurate as being constantly online, detach people from the real world and encourages youngsters to develop an uncivil style of communication. With the growing attachment of people to just-released technological devices and demand for internet, many people tend to spend the majority of their time online and the absence of face-to-face interaction results in not being able to share genuine feelings. For instance, a large number of people rely on emoticons to express their emotions. It has become a popular trend among people around the world to just express grieve or happiness buy posting an image with a caption full of emoticons. Therefore, it seems that people tend to confuse reality with the virtual world and cannot express how they really feel through meaningful words. Being able to react quickly to whatever is posted online through smartphones, develop uncivil and even aggressive style of communication among people who are reckless about how they would seem after leaving rude comments. However, it is useful to have a platform for sharing ideas, people should also engage in meaningful dialogues in social media and try to enhance their logical conversation abilities. For example, many teenagers make anonymous accounts and misbehave easily as they are sure no one cannot detect them. All in all, all people should be taught how to use online networks to improve their abilities rather than worsen them. In conclusion, I believe that squandering too much time on the internet and smart phones, put people off their immediate surround and allows them to be reckless about their manner which both result in poor social skills.