While some people consider global warming to be the most pressing environmental problem which we have at the moment, others believe that deforestation has a more devastating impact on our world. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Climate change is often at the top of the agenda throughout. It is often argued by some that the rise in temperature of the atmosphere is the top concern because of floods. Meanwhile, others still claim that the forest cutting at large scale is causing air pollution that needs to be addressed. This essay will explore both sides of the argument before reaching a logical opinion. On the one hand, the supporter of the idea that global warming is responsible for environmental hazards believes that glacier melting causes excessive floods. As the temperature of the atmosphere rises due to greenhouse gases, the icebergs start to melt. Take an example of a recent flood in China as a result of glacial mass melting in the Himalayas, due to which a large proportion of human beings, livestock, and agriculture were lost. Thus, heating of the globe causes devastation on a large scale. While, on the other hand, the advocates of the view that tree cutting has been adversely affecting the climate believe that the amount of carbon dioxide in the air increases because of this phenomenon. As trees act as an absorber of carbon dioxide, forest cutting causes the demise of this barrier. Take an example of India, a leading country in the carbon footprint, where lung diseases are more prevalent due to the fact that only 5% of the land is covered with trees. Hence, unnecessary logging is the cause of contamination of air with poisonous gas. Whereas, I believe that both act as a fueling force behind environmental problems. As global warming is causing a rise in water level, which affect the population, while augmenting the level of carbon in the air due to lack of trees acts as a slow poison for human beings. To sum up, from my perspective the combination of variation in atmospheric temperature and deforestation is badly affecting the environment through flooding and rising health issues due to air pollution.