Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook, Zalo,...) have a negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, most of the interpersonal communication takes place online. More and more people decide to use social media rather than meet face-to-face with friends. I believe, that such an approach has a negative impact on individuals as well as society. There have been many examples that prove my point. The most significant of them is the fact that social networking sites make people more isolated from each other. For instance, since it is much more convenient to communicate via the Internet, many individuals prefer to stay at home and chat with their relatives, consequently, becoming alienated from the rest of society. Furthermore, it makes people lazy. Normally, if you want to hang out with your friends you have to prepare yourself, leave home, and be more organised in general; in contrast, while using social media all you need to do is take your mobile device and send a text. In addition, such an approach has also many relevant drawbacks for society. Firstly, people stop trusting each other in real life. Since all normal interactions are replaced by social media, people no longer feel the necessity to care about each other in the real world, therefore, social bands are disappearing. Moreover, they may start to feel endangered by each other. Networking sites not only do allow for communication but also constitute a place where social polarization grows, as people feel less responsible for what they write online, which can result in tensions between them. In conclusion, depriving yourself of the opportunity to speak with others in the real world has many significant disadvantages. While individuals can become more isolated and lazy, the whole society can suffer from a lack of trust and an increase in polarization; thus, in my opinion, social media have an overall negative influence.