Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Some people believe that garbage produced by households is not recycled in a proper amount. In this essay, I will explain why I think that by making it mandatory by law, this situation would improve. The first reason for taking legal measures is that laws make things happen, sadly willpower is not enough. For instance, many countries around the world apply the fines to companies that do not recycle their papers, ensuring not only this, but also decreasing the printers nonsense use. In addition, applying these legal requirements to every household would make the government offer a special recollection system to take these different types of waste to their respective treatment area. Take, for example, plastic waste in my country is utilized to build brooms and shovels and organics are used to produce fertilizers. Conversely, others believe that another strategy to make people recycle more is to have more environmental education at schools. Take, for instance, in Finland, children learn about this since kindergarten. Nevertheless, education is definitely not enough to make the society most considerate of the damage that the garbage produces, the government should be responsible for distributing specific buckets to put paper, plastic, organic waste and glass to every house, playground and company in town. In the Autonomous City of Buenos Aires, in this manner, there are green stations where citizens can get their bins the 24 hours of the day. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that apart from education, people need laws to behave correctly. Therefore, governments should apply fines and offer the tools needed to recycle and correctly transform the waste into practical products for society.