Countries shd spend money on trains rather than new roads. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, it has been observed that many nations across the world spend the funds on the improvement of the existing trains by using the modern technologies and introducing high speed rails in their existing fleet rather than utilizing money for the construction of new roads.In the following paragraphs, I advocate my partial agreement with this statement. Firstly, the rail transport is one of the biggest mode of movement of people to commute between cities or states within a country as it provide economical, timely, safe and secure journey.But in a country like India, where the majority of people use the trains for commuting and transporting goods from one place to another, there is a dire need to upgrade the existing trains to cater the needs of the people travelling. Secondly, in India during the winter season, it has been observed that majority of trains got delayed because of fog and absence of latest technological equipments, which will increase the journey time, as a result of which many people miss their important events and functions. Furthermore, due to the poor rail tracks, trains are forced to run at an average speed of 100 KM/HR. So this gap can only fill by upgrading the tracks and introducing high speed trains. However, many people are dependent on road conveyance as well, especially in the areas where train connectivity is not there. In the developing nations, many villages do not have roads to commute from one place to another, and in some places, the existing roads are in a pathetic condition. There is a dire need to upgrade the existing road infrastructure in urban as well as remote areas, so that, these areas can be developed and in return, can contribute to the economic development of that region. To conclude, although the train transport is the biggest mode of movement and needs the improvement, but parallel development of the roads is also the need of the hour.