There is an alarming trend emerging among adolescents—the increasing crime rate. This phenomenon, explained by several experts, is a result of insufficient education at school and within the family. Although without in-depth investigation, such a theory can indeed offer useful insights into understanding the situation.

It is true that many teenagers involved in violent activities often share two traits, and the first is that they do not have great academic results. However, this does not indicate that these students are obtuse or slow on uptake; on the contrary, most of them are intelligent and shrewd enough. In fact, in most cases, schools failed them. For example, in areas where crime rates are significantly higher, schools are always more understaffed and underfunded, which turns the supposedly educational faculties into hotbeds of criminal misconduct. Teachers who are underpaid and overworked also face the conundrum of not being able to provide adequate support to the countless kids in need. Consequently, even though many young offenders intended to stay out of trouble, desperation and helplessness drove them off track. The second feature is their incomplete and even damaged families. In the US, the majority of violent felons who have not entered adulthood are raised by a single parent, mostly the mother. Needless to elaborate, single mums live the most difficult lives for having to be the breadwinner and the carer at the same time. Therefore, it is an unsurprising outcome that children in these families enjoy little necessary company and emotional support, let alone crucial guidance from older ones. For the lucky ones who grew up with a fatherlike presence, prevailing domestic abuse along with alcohol and drug addiction ruined family relationships, sabotaged any chances of indoctrination, and pushed youngsters to imitate those toxic behaviours. In closing, teachers and parents are always considered as role models and the most vital educators for children to emulate and learn life instructions. Once deprived of such advantages, developing individuals can easily fall victims to wrongful influences and even commit brutal felonies.