Some people regard video games as harmless fun or even as useful educational tool. Othera, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion do drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Video games are increasingly becoming popular day by day. Nowadays, with the boom in the field of technology, many kinds of video games are available to the people. It is often debated whether this form of games has its merits or its demerits. However, in my opinion, it has a definite negative effect on the people, which I will discuss over the course of the essay. Undoubtedly, there are various disadvantages associated with video games. Firstly, video games take away our precious time and make us isolated from our works and studies. That means, with an excessive use of such games distracts us from our daily activities and, mitigate our interactions and, bonding with families and friends. Another negative effect is people can even suffer from mental stress or depression because of playing video games continuously for a long hour. The salient example, can be best seen in India, where more than 50% of people are found to be victim of mental diseases due to overuse of the pub, which is one of the most popular game. Finally, a sense of argument or even a crime is also a liable consequence of online games. Having said this, it is also true such video games have few benefits. Like, it is a fun activity to do in a leisure period for people. Some video games also convey an educational information while playing games. For instance, word meaning, word connects and many others are the most important games that help in some extent to build up the mind with knowledge. In conclusion, video games are now ubiquitous and inevitable, which have a plethora of disadvantages. Therefore, In my opinion, its shortcomings clearly overweigh its benefits.