Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Multiple processed food and drink products with high sugar put people at risk of a series of health problems, and to combat it and escape the unhealthy food cycle, raising the price of those kinds of food would be a good way to reduce people's consumption. I partially agree with this view, and in this essay, I will discuss my opinion with examples in the following paragraphs. First of all, it is true that high- sugar food is a culprit, leading to a bad wellness, while people know that it is unhealthy, they still purchase it and account for its extremely to obtain. In comparison with other healthy nutrition dietary, sugar products, such as candy, cookies, soda, etc, are not always quite as expensive as those healthy food, as a result, individuals are encouraged to buy more. Take chocolate bars as an example, a chocolate bar only costs 10 NT dollars in Taiwan, being 10 times cheaper than a staple food, no wonder many children or some adults would keep buying it. Therefore, I think to change these results, food with high sugar which should be sold at a high price can work. However, in some cases, raising the cost of price can be useless, owing to individuals' desires. Many people get satisfaction from eating junk food that contains high sugar, whatever how expensive it is. For instance, when I am in my menstrual period, enjoying some high- sugar food can not only lift my spirit but also ease my pain; hence, I think the high price will not be a tough barrier for me. To sum up, I think health-related problems are complex; even though taking up the price can be a good measure, everyone has different levels of resistance, so there are more complementary measures that should be conducted to solve this severe consumption of sugar food issue.