In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Different nations care for their ageing population differently. Some nations take full responsibility while others leave it to the families to take care of their old ones. In Britain, the government sometimes pays to take care of the elderly in homes with nurses to look after them. Even though there are people that think the government should be responsible for the payment of this. Others think it should not be the responsibility of the government. In my own opinion, I think the government should be the ones in charge of this. There are times when an elder citizen has no one around to take care of them, for example, someone without a surviving relation. In an instance like this, leaving this kind person would result in suffering to the individual, furthermore, resulting in early death in most cases. But, with the government taking charge of the care, there is a chance of survival for the individual and a better life. Also, In other cases, a retired individual, for instance, someone that served and retired as a military personnel should enjoy some benefits from the government in their old age, so also, those that have worked and paid taxes all their life should benefit from these without depending on their relatives for care when they grow old. To conclude, I strongly believe that the government should take full responsibility of paying for the care of its older citizen, so as to give hope for the younger generation of a better life when they grow old.