Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

In today's world, waste management has become a top priority in many countries. One popular approach adopted by some of the local communities is the recycling of waste produced from homes. However, the success rate of this approach is said to have not been efficient enough and seeks the interference of the government for the same. In my opinion, I agree that the waste can be best handled with strict proposals and actions instructed from the government's end. Firstly, I believe mandatory rules such as segregation of waste at the grass-root level is the basic criteria for managing and recycling waste. In other words, every neighbourhood should be made aware of the products that can be recycled and how they can be segregated. One example is how the Bangalore Municipal Authority has imposed a compulsion of distinguishing wet waste and dry waste. This helps in making the first process of recycling easy from the very place it is generated. Secondly, another point to be considered is the compulsory adoption of waste management pits in every household to use the green waste produced in their kitchen. The dry waste can be collected by the local body, while the wet waste generated from cooking should be recycled within the same compound either by converting it into cooking gas or as manure for gardening. For instance, townships and apartments should construct a waste recycling pit to make sure that the cooking waste is efficiently recycled and utilised within its boundary. This helps in minimising the amount of waste that goes out of every habitat. In conclusion, though mechanisms to utilise waste is being slowly cultivated within some dwellings, I think the involvement of the government in terms of strict mandatory rules and regulations will further enhance the level of recycling waste at all the residences.