Public libraries should only provide books and should not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or DVDs. Do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly known that innovation has become more and more common in today’s learning environment, such as public libraries. While some people argue that libraries should provide only printed materials, others believe that new technologies and services, such as computers, softwares and hardwares, should be used to facilitate students’ learning, and I agree with the latter as opposed to the former. Firstly, public libraries should adapt to accommodate new applications of technology for learning, research, and information because students learn their subjects in different ways. Learning through different channels helps students to understand their lectures from different perspectives. This is a fact that has been proven by a recent study carried out by the University of Toronto in which students learn 80% faster when they can access the internet for self-study purposes. Since not everyone learns the same way, it is therefore evident that new learning technologies should be available for students at public libraries. Secondly, if libraries provided books only, knowledge acquisition would be limited. This is because the books get damaged by time and the information written gets obsolete. To illustrate such phenomenon, a study carried out by the University of Cambridge has found that 20% of the bookshelves were getting mold a heavy long-handled hammer used to drive stakes or wedges mauled mailed nailed from humidity and consequently damaging the older books, making them disposable. Since papers and books get outdated and damaged, it is therefore clear that technology should be heavily invested in public libraries to more effectively preserve and mine their collections online. In conclusion, the increasing investment in educational technology has brought up a lot of opportunities for students. Hence, public libraries should not be an exception of such trend and high-tech media should be used to keep knowledge available for library users.