Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades encourage students to learn.

Grading has been the most popular parameter to analyse performance of students in academics. Due to its imperatives, students often take marking schemes in a challenging manner, consequently, tending them to be under pressure. In my view, grades for sure encourage to perform well, however, whether it is motivating enough to learn is a questionable angle. In general, a good academic record is expected of every parent from their offspring. Now it depends that what criteria makes up for such record. The most prominently used factor to judge it is scoring in studies. Although, good grades may add a star in career life of an individual, it necessarily does not imply that learning got enhanced. Instead, in order to learn something, the motivation should be the curiosity and not the desire of being highest ranker. Scoring can encourage to remember things for short-term, nevertheless, it is not effective in learning for long-term. Apart from just being a scale for measuring better and best among scholars, furthermore, grading acts as a threshold barrier for considering a candidate as fail or pass. In this particular scenario, maybe this approach propels students to study, subsequently making them acquire knowledge too. But yet again, it does not guarantee if learning comes along excellently. In conclusion, I would like to say that the grading system is mostly a method to rank bunch of students. It may be a pushing factor only for some to actually learn concepts. Moreover, learning will always be accompanied by excellence for sure.