Some people think that university should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Other thinks that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of wheter the course is useful to an employer. What , in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

These days, many young guys decide to join university and to complete their education acquiring a degree, before directly diving in the world job. However, some people claim that there is a huge edge to overcome for many graduates, or rather their inability to effectively work. In this essay I will examine some of the problems related to these issues and then propose some solutions. One of the biggest problem is facing a workplace in which some specific skills are required that graduates have never learnt. This means that many courses offer a wide range of knowledge, but sometime they lack to teach practical skills. To tackle with this problem, universities could invest more money to support practical additional parts within a course; in other words, some tuitions should include how to deal with practical problems. Another issue is that many companies required already skilled students, that have experienced how to cope with some daily problems within the offices. In this case, however, the issue can be directly addressed by the companies that should understand that is quite rare to have a complete and deep education in all the imaginable field, right after the degree. This is to say that all employers should scale back their needs and should encourage young graduates to join their workplace, promoting some tutoring with experienced colleagues. On the other hand, I strongly believe that the majority of responsibilities are related to students. This is because, graduates have been plenty of opportunities to learn as much as they can and they cannot pretend to be driven in all steps of their educational growth. The way forward for graduates, could be to learn also be themselves how to acquire specific skills that could be useful in their future job. To sum up, there are some duties that universities have and that they have to tackle with, but I in my view the main problem is about prejudices both of employers and students that believed that graduates should not learn anymore after their degree.