With an increasing number of people eating fast food, which if eating too regularly can cause health issues, some people think that the only solution is to ban it completely. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, there is an increased number of people consuming fast food on a regular basis that make them at risk for several health diseases. I completely disagree with the proposal of some that the ultimate action to address this problem is to ban fast food chains completely as there are better solutions like health promotion and doing regular exercise. Firstly, eradication of fast food does not guarantee a healthy population because there are a lot of factors in maintaining optimal health. Health promotion through mass media and print ads can educate the masses on what is the right amount and kind of food to consume. In this way, people will have enough knowledge about healthy foods and the appropriate amount to take. In addition, media advertisement about calorie counting will inform the crowd that occasional fast food consumption can be done in accordance to the calorie needed by the body and the kind of nutrients it contain. For instance, some fast food in Korea like McDonald’s is providing a detailed information regarding the calories each meal that their costumer can see before ordering. Moreover, regular physical activities are also important in obtaining healthy body. Government may invest in creating free gym facilities that the people can access that are near their houses. Schools may also promote regular exercise my incorporating it into their curriculum and encouraging their students to have regular physical activities. In other words, educational institutions may have an hour break from tedious classroom lecture and encourage them to do brisk walking in their school gyms or quadrangles. In conclusion, despite some people having an opinion that closure of fast food is the only answer to growing population having heart issues, I completely disagree and believe that information dissemination through the media and regular exercise are still the best way to address this concern.