The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Nuclear weapons have been a great source of debate. It is a two-edged sword that can be used to help the prosperity and development of the human race or wipe its existence. Many argue if nuclear power should be put to use as it provides a clean and cheap energy. However, some still worry about the possible side effects and whether the benefits really outweigh the disadvantages. Nuclear weapons are quite dangerous. There is no wonder why people are wary when it comes to them, as they have witnessed firsthand the destruction that it could cause. Hiroshima and Nagasaki, for instance, provide a clear example of what these powers are capable of; pure destruction. It has taken years to fix the damage resulting from the use of such a power. Even though this sort of energy would be used for good purposes and not for war, people seem to be afraid of something going wrong. And it is a justified fear because if something were to go wrong, it would put everyone at risk. However, Does that mean that we should put nuclear power to rest? Personally, I agree that nuclear energy has more advantages to it. As dangerous as it is, it is still an enormous source of power; one that could be used for the benefit of the people. It would be illogical and unfair to dispense such an energy supply, especially when the world is in need of it. Every day the world's sources of energy -represented in fossil fuels-are diminishing with no substitute, renewable energy are needed to keep the world running. Nuclear power, being a renewable source of energy provides a perfect substitute for fossil fuels. Furthermore, it's Eco-friendly, which would keep the environment clean and healthy. It would also be cheaper because of the large economies of scale. From this, it's clear that the perks outweigh the cost. In conclusion, Nuclear energy is a powerful tool. It has been misused, which have made it a cause of fear and destruction rather than a source of evolution and benefits. Nevertheless, that doesn't mean that we shouldn't put it into good use and learn from our mistakes and benefit from it.